Curriculum Vitae

Prof. Dr. Ekkehard Lindner

Prof. Lindner Bild

Professor Dr. Ekkehard Lindner, born in 1934 in Rottweil/Neckar (Germany), studied Chemistry at the then Technische Hochschule München (now Technische UniversitätMünchen) and completed his Ph.D. thesis in 1962 with Professor Dr. Dr. h.c. mult. Walter Hieber on perfluorinated organocobaltcarbonyls. After his dissertation, he joined the group of Professor Dr. Dr. h.c. Helmut Behrens at the University of Erlangen-Nünberg and completed his Habilitation in 1967 with work on reactions of acid halides with Lewis acids and Lewis bases. In 1966 he was appointed Oberassistent and in 1970 Wissenschaftlicher Rat. In the same year he was awarded the Dozentenstipendium of the Fonds der Chemischen Industrie. In 1971 he accepted a chair at the Institute of Inorganic Chemistry of the University of Tübingen. In the periods 1975 - 2002, 1974 - 1976, and 1985 - 1988 he was Director of the Institute of Inorganic Chemistry, Dean of the Faculty of Chemistry and Pharmacy, and Vice President of the University of Tübingen, respectively. He is author of more than 465 peer-reviewed papers and supervised 140 Ph.D. students.

His main research interests were and are: (i) supraolecular chemistry for the design and synthesis of functionalized macromolecules, (ii) chemistry in interphases for polymer-supported catalysts, (iii) activation of small molecules with transition metal complexes, (iv) water-soluble transition metal catalysts for the polymerization and copolymerization of cheap organic monomers, (v) complex chemistry of ambident ligands, (vi) catalytic hydrocaronylation of alcohols, and (vii) organophosphorus chemistry. Between 1998 and 2004 he was speaker (chairperson) of the Graduiertenkolleg Chemistry in Interphases a joint collaboration between chemists, physicists, and computer scientists of the Universities of Tübingen and Stuttgart. He has been a regular referee for many international scientific journals and for German as well as foreign funding agencies. Since 1959 he is a member of the German Chemical Society.